Spinning From The Cup

Yesterday I mentioned that I’m working on starting a fiber business. Well, today I thought I would share a little more about that. The cup of Alpaca fiber I shared with you is made of 2.5 ounces (70 grams) of three different colors of Alpaca. I’m really fortunate to have a lovely Alpaca farm nearby and have helped at the shearing two years in a row.

One of the best things about this is that I get to see these remarkable animals and to select their fiber as it comes off their backs.

I believe in processing the fiber myself to cause as little waste as possible. Quite likely, if I sent this fiber to a mill to be processed, I’d lose about a half of it. I’m a frugal type and this is unacceptable to me.

I decided to see what the fiber in one of the cups would be like to spin, so here’s some progress pictures.

  This shows how the cup can act like a distaff or a Diz.

OK if you don’t know what those things are, a distaff is something that holds fiber in some kind of organized way so that as you spin, it feeds it slowly. A Diz is something that allows fiber that has been combed, to be pulled out into a long ribbon. This ribbon, known as a roving, makes it easier to spin as the fiber can be held easily in one hand and fed slowly for you to spin. Class dismissed. Back to our regularly scheduled program.  

  

Here’s what th first fiber looks like as it came out of the cup. It’s the white and some of the chocolate brown.

  
Now the chocolate brown is transitioning to the tan.

After the tan is finished, I’ll ply it using a center-pull ball, which means I’ll spin from both ends of the singles yarn.

I’ll show that in the next post.

Leave a Reply

