Why We Do Things

I’ve been thinking a little bit about being retired and why we do certain things. Something that came to mind today, was washing our wood floors. I’ve had a item on my to do list for quite awhile now. I intended to wash our wood floors every six months. But I haven’t gotten around to doing that. We dust them with a Swiffer every couple of weeks, and that seems to take care of the day-to-day stuff.

Now that I’m retired, I’m starting to use my to do list in a way to make sure that I make good use of my time. Cleaning the floors is one of those things that I started to question why I would want to do it. Of course, we’re all taught as kids to clean the house and keep it in good order. In keeping with my Toltec transformation process that I’ve been working on over the last few years, I’ve been asking myself what I believe in and why I believe in it. It occurs to me that now that I’m not working, I have time to do things without feeling that I need to do them because I feel like someone else told me to..
A few years ago, I questioned making my bed in the morning. It occurred to me that I did it out of a habit that was created when I was a kid when my mother told me that when you get out of bed in the morning the first thing you do is make your bed. So I stopped making my bed for a while to see why I was doing it. As it turned out, I like the way the room looks when the bed is made. So I began making my bed every day again and I’m happy that I did that. But I do it because it pleases me to do it not because of some belief system that I didn’t create.
I think watching the Alaska programs and seeing the homesteaders and what is important to them, has influenced my desire to know why I do things. I think that washing the floors, cleaning the house and maintaining the property that we have, is less about doing it because someone told me I should, or because my neighbors will think ill of me, than doing it because I want to know that the place looks good and is well-maintained.
It might be a small thing, but for me, doing things because it feels right to me is so much more important than doing things because someone else’s belief system has been imposed on me. This is very empowering and freeing.

Leave a Reply

