Traditions

This time of year in the US we celebrate Thanksgiving. This has always been a favorite of mine because it’s not really a commercial holiday (the “fun” starts the day after).

It got me thinking about my rug making and how inspired I’ve been by the rugs my Grandmother made. I still have one:

My Gtandmother’s rug (close to 100 years old) and one of my early ones

I made one back in 2016 being inspired by hers but wanting a larger circular one.

This sat under our piano for quite some time, but it had some moth damage. I pulled it out, took all the lacing of the braids apart and washed it (as braids) in very hot soapy water and dried them in the dryer (also very hot). Fortunately, you can do this with wool when you want it to felt. Not something I recommend as usual care of things made of wool.

Then I laid out the braids and redesigned two new rugs. the first is another round one but much smaller.

“Grandma’s Rug”

I put it in my Etsy shop (http://summerhillspinner.etsy.com, calling it “Grandma’s Rug”. I still had lots of braids left over so I decided to make an oval one. I’ve been making mostly small round ones for the shop.

Grandma’s Rug Too

I haven’t decided whether to sell this one or to keep it in our house. I’m leaning toward keeping it as it reminds me of this family tradition I’m keeping alive.

Hope you have a joyous holiday season filled with your own traditions.


Leave a comment